When you retrieve a file from
the vault, a copy is placed in a working folder on your local hard
drive. This folder serves as a cache area.
The system copies files to the local cache when
- Select a file and open the Preview tab.
- Request the file by selecting Check out, Get Versions, or Get Latest Version.
- Drag a SolidWorks Toolbox part into an assembly (when
Enterprise PDM is managing the Toolbox library).
How Cached Files Are Handled
The next time you access the file, Enterprise PDM looks for it
in the working folder. If it is there and has the correct version,
Enterprise PDM does not retrieve it from the file vault again. When
you save a modified file into the vault, you can keep a read-only
copy in the working folder or remove the local copy.
The Version tab displays the file
version in your local cache folder. It also displays a warning when
you do not have the latest version of the file locally.
When you add a file to the local vault view by creating or
copying a file, it is only present in your local cache. Although
information about the file is entered into the vault database, it
is not available to other users until you check the file into the
An Enterprise PDM Web client installed on the
same system as the full Enterprise PDM client uses the same local cache. When the Web client is used, the local vault view is placed
in offline mode.
To learn how to access and use the Enterprise PDM Web client, see the Web Client section of the SolidWorks Enterprise PDM Web Server Guide. The Web Server Guide is avilable from the Help menu of the Adminstration tool.
The Web Server Guide is available only in English.
Removing Cached Files
You can remove files from the local cache when you no longer need them:
You can remove files individually when you check them into the vault.
- You can remove files from an entire folder or vault by clearing the local cache.
Removing a file from the local cache does not
affect the file in the vault.