You can cancel a check out without saving changes.
- Right-click a file or folder you no longer want checked out and click Undo Check out.
In the Undo Check Out dialog box, set column values as needed.
See Undo Check Out Dialog Box.
If you undo a check out after you have made changes to the file, the changes will be lost.