Hide Table of Contents

Cached Files

When you retrieve a file from the vault, a copy is placed in a working folder on your local hard drive. This folder serves as a cache area.

The system copies files to the local cache when you:
  • Select a file and open the Preview tab.
  • Request the file by selecting Check out, Get Versions, or Get Latest Version.
  • Drag a SOLIDWORKS Toolbox part into an assembly (when Enterprise PDM is managing the Toolbox library).

Your system administrator can also specify folders where the software automatically refreshes the local cache when you log in to SOLIDWORKS Enterprise PDM.

How Cached Files Are Handled

The next time you access the file, Enterprise PDM looks for it in the working folder. If it is there and has the correct version, Enterprise PDM does not retrieve it from the file vault again. When you save a modified file into the vault, you can keep a read-only copy in the working folder or remove the local copy.

The Version tab displays the file version in your local cache folder. It also displays a warning when you do not have the latest version of the file locally.

When you add a file to the local vault view by creating or copying a file, it is only present in your local cache. Although information about the file is entered into the vault database, it is not available to other users until you check the file into the vault.

An Enterprise PDM Web client installed on the same system as the full Enterprise PDM client uses the same local cache. When the Web client is used, the local vault view is placed in offline mode.

To learn how to access and use the Enterprise PDM Web client, see the Web Client section of the SOLIDWORKS Enterprise PDM Web Server Guide. The Web Server Guide is available from the Help menu of the Administration tool.

The Web Server Guide is available only in English.

Removing Cached Files

You can remove files from the local cache when you no longer need them:
  • You can remove files individually when you check them into the vault.
  • You can remove files from an entire folder or vault by clearing the local cache.
    Checked in files that are referenced by a checked out file are not removed.

Removing a file from the local cache does not affect the file in the vault.

Your system administrator can also specify folders where the software automatically clears the local cache when you log out of SOLIDWORKS Enterprise PDM.
An automated clear removes all files that are not checked out and does not retain files that are referenced by checked out files as manually clearing the cache does.


Provide feedback on this topic

SOLIDWORKS welcomes your feedback concerning the presentation, accuracy, and thoroughness of the documentation. Use the form below to send your comments and suggestions about this topic directly to our documentation team. The documentation team cannot answer technical support questions. Click here for information about technical support.

* Required

 
*Email:  
Subject:   Feedback on Help Topics
Page:   Cached Files
*Comment:  
*   I acknowledge I have read and I hereby accept the privacy policy under which my Personal Data will be used by Dassault Systèmes

Print Topic

Select the scope of content to print:



x

We have detected you are using a browser version older than Internet Explorer 7. For optimized display, we suggest upgrading your browser to Internet Explorer 7 or newer.

 Never show this message again
x

Web Help Content Version: SOLIDWORKS PDM 2014 SP05

To disable Web help from within SOLIDWORKS and use local help instead, click Help > Use SOLIDWORKS Web Help.

To report problems encountered with the Web help interface and search, contact your local support representative. To provide feedback on individual help topics, use the “Feedback on this topic” link on the individual topic page.