Hide Table of Contents

Setting State Access Rights

You can assign access permissions to define what operations users or groups can perform on files in a given workflow state. For example, you can define that all users can add or check out files, but only project leaders can delete files.

To assign state access rights:

  1. From the workflow editor, click the state you want to edit.
  2. In the state's Properties dialog box, on the Permissions tab, click Add Users/Groups.
    The Add Users/Groups dialog box opens, listing all the users and groups defined in the vault.
  3. To select groups or individual users to have permissions to files in this state:
    1. Select one or more groups or expand All Users or a group to select individual users.
      Type a string in the Filter field to display only users and groups whose names contain that string.
    2. Click OK.
  4. To assign permissions, on the Permissions tab, in the left column, select a user or group.
    To assign the same rights to multiple users or groups, use the Shift and Ctrl keys, or drag and select to make multiple selections.
  5. In the right column, select check boxes to grant rights or clear check boxes to remove rights.
    Add or rename file

    Can add a file to the vault or rename a vault file.

    Check out file

    Can check out a file for editing.

    Delete file

    Can delete a file. Deleted files typically go to the SOLIDWORKS PDM recycling bin.

    Destroy

    Can purge deleted files from a folder's Properties - Deleted Items tab. Also, a user with this right can bypass the SOLIDWORKS PDM recycling bin by pressing the Shift key when deleting a file.

    Edit version free variable data Can update version free variables without checking out files.
    Set Revision

    Can use the Set Revision command for files in the selected state

    Move File (SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional only) Can move files that are in the selected state Note that users must also have Move File Folder permissions.
    Permit or deny group-level access to files

    Only users in the specified groups (if they have sufficient folder and workflow state permissions) can access the file. Other users will not see the file, regardless of folder or state permissions.

    Read file contents

    Can read file versions that have been in the selected state.

    Restore file from cold storage Can recover files that have been archived in cold storage.
    Share file to another folder (SOLIDWORKS PDM Professional only)

    Can share file versions that have been in the selected state.

  6. Click OK.
  7. To save your changes, click Save or File > Save .


Provide feedback on this topic

SOLIDWORKS welcomes your feedback concerning the presentation, accuracy, and thoroughness of the documentation. Use the form below to send your comments and suggestions about this topic directly to our documentation team. The documentation team cannot answer technical support questions. Click here for information about technical support.

* Required

 
*Email:  
Subject:   Feedback on Help Topics
Page:   Setting State Access Rights
*Comment:  
*   I acknowledge I have read and I hereby accept the privacy policy under which my Personal Data will be used by Dassault Systèmes

Print Topic

Select the scope of content to print:



x

We have detected you are using a browser version older than Internet Explorer 7. For optimized display, we suggest upgrading your browser to Internet Explorer 7 or newer.

 Never show this message again
x

Web Help Content Version: SOLIDWORKS PDM 2016 SP05

To disable Web help from within SOLIDWORKS and use local help instead, click Help > Use SOLIDWORKS Web Help.

To report problems encountered with the Web help interface and search, contact your local support representative. To provide feedback on individual help topics, use the “Feedback on this topic” link on the individual topic page.