Hide Table of Contents

Upgrading Clients from Administrative Images

SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager can automatically update client computers installed from an administrative image.

Typically, administrative images are organized in folders on a server. To support the automatic upgrade of clients, the administrative image must be located in a shared folder.

After upgrading the administrative image, the original installation will be in one folder and the upgraded installation will be in another folder. To use the upgraded installation, remove the sharing option from the original administrative image folder and then add the sharing option to the upgraded administrative image folder.

When SOLIDWORKS starts on a client machine that installed from the original administrative image, it sees the new version and upgrades the client.
This behavior only applies to SOLIDWORKS installations. No other products support it.

Removing the Sharing Option from the Original Administrative Image Folder

When upgrading an administrative image that is accessed from a shared folder, you must remove the sharing option from the original folder.

  1. Browse to the folder where the original administrative image files are located.
  2. Right-click the folder and select Properties.
  3. On the Sharing tab, select Do not share this folder, and then click OK.

Now add the sharing option to the upgraded administrative image folder as described in Adding the Sharing Option to an Upgraded Administrative Image Folder.

Adding the Sharing Option to an Upgraded Administrative Image Folder

Once you have created an updated administrative image folder and disabled the sharing for the original administrative image folder, you must add the sharing option to the new folder to re-enable the administrative image.

  1. Browse to the folder where the upgraded administrative image files are located.
  2. Right-click the folder and select Properties.
  3. On the Sharing tab, specify the sharing properties appropriate for your organization or group and change the share name to the name used for the original administrative image folder.
Computers that installed from the original administrative image share location will upgrade to the new version automatically when starting SOLIDWORKS.


Provide feedback on this topic

SOLIDWORKS welcomes your feedback concerning the presentation, accuracy, and thoroughness of the documentation. Use the form below to send your comments and suggestions about this topic directly to our documentation team. The documentation team cannot answer technical support questions. Click here for information about technical support.

* Required

 
*Email:  
Subject:   Feedback on Help Topics
Page:   Upgrading Clients from Administrative Images
*Comment:  

Print Topic

Select the scope of content to print:



x

We have detected you are using a browser version older than Internet Explorer 7. For optimized display, we suggest upgrading your browser to Internet Explorer 7 or newer.

 Never show this message again
x

Web Help Content Version: SOLIDWORKS Installation 2017 SP04

The search functionality within the web help is in a beta test phase and you may experience periodic delays or interruptions in its performance. These are the normal and ordinary features of a beta test and shall not under any circumstances give rise to any liability on the part of Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corporation or its licensors. The topics within the Web-based help are not beta topics; they document SOLIDWORKS Installation 2017 SP04.

To disable Web help from within SOLIDWORKS and use local help instead, click Help > Use SOLIDWORKS Web Help.

To report problems encountered with the Web help interface and search, contact your local support representative. To provide feedback on individual help topics, use the “Feedback on this topic” link on the individual topic page.