Hide Table of Contents

Upgrading to a New Release

There are several methods for upgrading an individual installation to a new SOLIDWORKS release.

You can upgrade to a new release when you:
  • Receive new installation media
  • Are notified of upgrades when starting SOLIDWORKS
  • Check for updates manually
  • Start a new instance of SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager

When installing a new major release, you can upgrade a previously installed major release or install the new release in parallel. If you are installing a Service Pack release for a previously installed major release, that release is updated automatically.

Checking for Updates Manually

You can check for updates for a currently installed SOLIDWORKS release using one of these methods.

  • In SOLIDWORKS, click Help > Check for Updates.
  • In Microsoft Windows, click Start > All Programs > SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager > Check for Updates.

Upgrading Workgroup PDM Clients

Clients are prompted to update the first time they log in after the vault is updated. No service pack is required for client updates.

Client Status Relative to Vault Action
Same version as vault None
Same major release, newer than vault None
Newer major release, newer than vault Login is blocked
Same major release, older than vault Optional update
Older major release, older than vault Mandatory update

For details about updating Workgroup PDM clients, see Update Clients in the Workgroup PDM Help.

Upgrade Caveats

Products that can have multiple installations with different major versions do not always support major upgrades, or the ability to upgrade between major versions as a single operation.

In this case, SOLIDWORKS Installation Manager simulates the upgrade by first installing the new version, then removing the old one. At this time, the core SOLIDWORKS product supports major upgrades, while the other products do not.

The consequences of this are:
  • When upgrading the core SOLIDWORKS product between major versions:
    • Your existing installed location does not change.
    • The upgrade can be rolled back if an error occurs or the you cancel during the upgrade.
  • When other products are upgraded between major versions:
    • Each product is first installed as a new product to a new location, then the original installation is removed.
    • Once started, the upgrade cannot be rolled back if an error occurs or if you cancel during the upgrade.


Provide feedback on this topic

SOLIDWORKS welcomes your feedback concerning the presentation, accuracy, and thoroughness of the documentation. Use the form below to send your comments and suggestions about this topic directly to our documentation team. The documentation team cannot answer technical support questions. Click here for information about technical support.

* Required

 
*Email:  
Subject:   Feedback on Help Topics
Page:   Upgrading to a New Release
*Comment:  

Print Topic

Select the scope of content to print:



x

We have detected you are using a browser version older than Internet Explorer 7. For optimized display, we suggest upgrading your browser to Internet Explorer 7 or newer.

 Never show this message again
x

Web Help Content Version: SOLIDWORKS Installation 2017 SP03

The search functionality within the web help is in a beta test phase and you may experience periodic delays or interruptions in its performance. These are the normal and ordinary features of a beta test and shall not under any circumstances give rise to any liability on the part of Dassault Systèmes SolidWorks Corporation or its licensors. The topics within the Web-based help are not beta topics; they document SOLIDWORKS Installation 2017 SP03.

To disable Web help from within SOLIDWORKS and use local help instead, click Help > Use SOLIDWORKS Web Help.

To report problems encountered with the Web help interface and search, contact your local support representative. To provide feedback on individual help topics, use the “Feedback on this topic” link on the individual topic page.