Hide Table of Contents

Migrating Preferences from a Previous Release

You can migrate custom settings such as profiles, preferences, file locations, and UI customizations from a previous release of the software to the new release.

The Migration Assistance dialog box opens automatically when you start a new release or service pack the first time after installation. To migrate preferences at a later point in time, use the Migration command.

Note: The migration tool does not copy files. It merges user profile files and UI customization files. Also, it directs search paths to file locations of the previous release.

To migrate preferences from a previous release using the Migration Assistance dialog box:

  1. Install a new release or service pack.
  2. In the Migration Assistance dialog box, in Migrate settings from, specify the release you want to migrate from.
  3. The number in brackets behind the product name specifies the application data roaming folder of the previous release.
  4. The number in brackets behind the product name specifies the user's home configuration directory of the previous release.
  5. The number in brackets behind the product name specifies the user's preferences folder of the previous release.
  6. In Profile, specify whether to adapt All profiles or the Active profile.
  7. Profiles let you customize the settings that control the drawing environment.
  8. In Profile Settings, specify the categories to adapt:
    • User interface. Transfers customizations from a previous installation to the current one.
    • Merges a customized application.xml file and customized <workspace_name>.xml files with the corresponding flles of the new release.
    • The merged files are in the UI folder (application.xml) and the Workspace folder (<workspace_name>.xml) located in the application data roaming folder (\Users\<user_profile>\AppData\Roaming\<application_name>\<application_version>) of the previous release.
    • The merged files are in the UI folder (application.xml) and the Workspace folder (<workspace_name>.xml) located in the user's home directory under config (~/config/<application_name>/<application_version>) of the previous release.
    • The merged files are in the UI folder (application.xml) and the Workspace folder (<workspace_name>.xml) located in the preferences folder of the user (/Users/<current_user>/Library/Preferences/<application_name>/<application_version>) of the previous release.
    • Aliases. Merges customized alias.xml files of the previous release with the corresponding flles of the new release (see Alias Commands).
    • Drawing support folders. Sets the search locations for drawing files, drawing template files, external references files, LineStyle files, and RichlineStyle files to the folders as specified in the previous release. Also, sets the locations of the alternate font file (*.shx) and the font mapping file (fonts.map) to the settings of the previous version.
    • System folders. Sets the search locations for font files and support files to the folders as specified in the previous release. Also, sets the locations of the custom spelling dictionary file, help file, and log file to the settings of the previous version. You can use the Options command to change these folders and files (see Setting File Location Options).
      • Print styles. Sets the folder for PrintStyle definition files (*.ctb and *.stb files) to the folders as specified in the previous release. You can use the Options command to change the folder for PrintStyles (click System Options > Printing > Print style file location).
    • Preferences and system variables. Sets preferences as set in the previous release on the User Preferences tab of the Options dialog box (see Setting User Preferences). Also, sets system variables which are stored in the user's profile as set in the previous release.
    • Preferences. Sets preferences as set in the previous release on the User Preferences tab of the Options dialog box (see Setting User Preferences) and other settings for the drawing environment.
    • Preferences and command variables. Sets preferences as set in the previous release on the User Preferences tab of the Options dialog box (see Setting User Preferences). Also, sets command variables which are stored in the user's profile as set in the previous release.
  9. In Migration Options, specify whether to Keep current settings for unselected categories or Restore default settings for unselected categories.
  10. Current settings are custom settings whereas default settings are pre-set application settings.
  11. These options are not available when the Migration Assistance dialog box opens automatically when you start a new release or service pack the first time after installation.
  12. Click OK.
  13. The application starts using the migrated settings.

To migrate preferences at a later time:

  1. Type Migration at the command prompt.
  2. In the dialog box, click Yes to confirm that you want to migrate the software.
  3. Save your work.
  4. Exit the application.
  5. Restart the application.
  6. In the Migration Assistance dialog box, set migration options, as described in the previous procedure.

To restore preferences to the application's original condition:

Note: This operation will override existing profiles.

  1. In the Migration Assistance dialog box, in Profile, specify whether to restore the application's default settings for All profiles or for the Active profile.
  2. In Profile Settings, clear all categories.
  3. In Migration Options, select Restore default settings for unselected categories.
  4. Click OK to run the application.
  5. The profile(s) are set to the default settings.

  Note: In the OS shell, you can run the application's executable with the /resetprofile parameter to restore to the default preferences. Also, you can run the application's executable with the /migration parameter to open the Migration Assistance dialog box at startup.

Access

Command: Migration



Provide feedback on this topic

SOLIDWORKS welcomes your feedback concerning the presentation, accuracy, and thoroughness of the documentation. Use the form below to send your comments and suggestions about this topic directly to our documentation team. The documentation team cannot answer technical support questions. Click here for information about technical support.

* Required

 
*Email:  
Subject:   Feedback on Help Topics
Page:   Migrating Preferences from a Previous Release
*Comment:  
*   I acknowledge I have read and I hereby accept the privacy policy under which my Personal Data will be used by Dassault Systèmes

Print Topic

Select the scope of content to print:



x

We have detected you are using a browser version older than Internet Explorer 7. For optimized display, we suggest upgrading your browser to Internet Explorer 7 or newer.

 Never show this message again
x

Web Help Content Version: 2019 SP04

To disable Web help from within SOLIDWORKS and use local help instead, click Help > Use SOLIDWORKS Web Help.

To report problems encountered with the Web help interface and search, contact your local support representative. To provide feedback on individual help topics, use the “Feedback on this topic” link on the individual topic page.